MONTGOMERY COUNTY ESD 1 Montgomery County, Texas

The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County ESD 1, convened in session, via video conference on May 20, 2020 with the following Board Members:

Members Present: J. Steven Weisinger, President

Chuck Frank, Vice President Sharene Carr, Treasurer

David Cooper, Assistant Treasurer/Secretary

The regular meeting of Montgomery County ESD 1 was called to order by President J. Steven Weisinger on May 20, 2020 at 6:00 P.M. All members were present, therefore constituting a quorum. Also present were Fire Chief Jason Oliphant, Assistant Fire Chief Shane Houser, Office Administrator Crystal LaCaze, Battalion Chief Jeff McDonald, Attorney John Peeler, Accountant Brian Desilets and Auditor Jonathan Watson.

No Public Comment was offered under item 2 of the agenda.

Addressing item 3 of the agenda regarding minutes from the prior meeting, the Board took action on the following:

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to accept and approve the regular meeting minutes held on April 15, 2020.

Addressing item 4 of the agenda regarding financial matters, the Board took action on the following: Jonathan Watson presented the District's annual Audit. Upon a motion made Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board unanimously voted to accept the Audit as presented by Jonathan Watson.

Brian Desilets presented the District Bookkeeper's Report and Monthly Bills. Upon a motion by Commissioner Carr and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board unanimously voted to accept the Bookkeepers report as presented by Accountant Brian Desilets and to approve payment of the District's monthly bills.

Attorney John Peeler presented the 2020 Investment Policy, stating that no changes were made. Upon a Motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to accept the Investment Policy as presented by Attorney John Peeler.

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the board voted unanimously to appoint Commissioner Chuck Frank as the District's Investment Officer.

Addressing item 5f of the agenda, Chief Oliphant requested that the 2017 Hurricane Harvey reimbursement we just received be used to purchase new bunker gear for personnel. Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to authorize Chief Oliphant to use the Hurricane Harvey reimbursement of \$178,000, on new bunker gear.

Addressing item 6a, Chief Oliphant stated that he would like to meet with the budget committee prior to the next meeting, to start the budget process.

Addressing items 7-10 of the agenda, under Government Code sections 551.071, 551.072 and 551.074 related to closed sessions, the Board convened into Closed Session at 7:05 P.M.

The Board reconvened into Open Session at 8:23 P.M. under item 10 of the agenda.

Addressing item 11 of the agenda, Chief Oliphant informed the Board that the Department had our first positive case of COVID-19 and 16 additional personnel exposures that had to be put into isolation. This opened approximately 50-60 shifts, which all had to be filled with overtime.

Addressing item 12a of the agenda, Chief Oliphant stated that in the month of March, the Department was advised to restrict spending and asked if the Department could continue with the spending of budgeted items now that we are in the month of May. Commissioner Weisinger stated that if the spending is within the budget, then it would be approved while also advising that the Department remain frugal and the Board agreed.

Chief Oliphant presented the monthly call volume report.

Addressing item 13 of the agenda, Commissioner Weisinger stated that the Board would like to have a meeting, the following week on Wednesday or Thursday that Cokinos will participate in.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 8:56 P.M.

Crystal LaCaze

District Office Manager and Administrative Secretary Montgomery County ESD 1